Pimsleur vs Rosetta Stone

What is the best way to learn a language?

Como Agua Para Chocolate

leave a comment »

My how time in the summer slips by! Last night I got a chance to watch Like Water for Chocolate with the wife. Yeah I know we’re about 17 years behind the curve in movies, but it was a nice time. Set in the Mexico of old, it’s a touching love story, and also is conveniently in both Spanish and English, which meant that a newly aspiring language geek like me had a lot of fun, and probably too many side comments!

I tried forcing myself to stop reading the subtitles, which proved to be very difficult. When they’re there, you want to read them! At certain points I actually closed my eyes to concentrate on the words, and pick up as much of the Spanish as I could. Maybe because it was a historical drama (and not full of modern slang) I felt that I could keep up pretty well. I couldn’t exactly pause and look up words (not with our date movie night anyway!) so I missed a couple of things.

Also I thought it was funny that Doctor Brown clearly didn’t use either Pimsleur or Rosetta Stone Spanish. Ha! His accent was terrible! Spanish is a beautiful language, and that’s part of why I chose audio courses…why learn from a book and get the accent all wrong? More updates on my progress to come.

Hasta luego!

Written by pimsleurvsrosetta

July 23, 2009 at 5:07 pm

Posted in pimsleur, rosetta

Tagged with ,

Leave a comment